The Historic Sports Car Club (HSCC) celebrated 50 years of Formula 5000 at 2019's show. The series, whose name is derived from the cars engine capacity, came to the UK in 1969 with the first race, won by Peter Gethin in a McLaren M10 at Oulton Park. The legendary Brit went on to win the Championship both in 1969 and 1970 and he also won the Tasman Championship in 1974 driving a Chevron B24. In its heyday, there were series’ in America, Canada, New Zealand, Australia and the UK. 

The HSCC displayed six cars at Autosport International including an ex-Mike Hailwood 1971 Surtees TS8 and the 1970 Mclaren M10B raced by Peter Gethin. A number of drivers from the period were at the show in January and fans got up close to the legendary chassis on display and got an insight in to the work the HSCC, the premier organiser of historic motor racing in the UK, do.

The six-car display at Autosport International compromised of the following:

  • 1969 Lola T142 ex-Ernst Kroll

  • 1970 Mclaren M10B ex-Peter Gethin

  • 1971 Surtees TS8 ex-Mike Hailwood

  • 1972 McRae GM1

  • 1974 Gurney Eagle FA74

  • 1975 Lola T400

Our show partners