Show Phone Number


Derbyshire based Hillspeed is one of the UK’s most professional, and successful, motor racing teams having won championship titles in each of the categories it has contested – Formula Renault, Ginetta Junior and Formula 3. In addition to the continuation of the team’s current activities in Ginetta Junior and Protyre Formula Renault BARC, from 2013 Hillspeed will also be competing in the new BRDC Formula 4 Championship with a two-car entry. Hillspeed has an enviable history of success which stretches back more than 40 years. Established in 1970 to run Morgan Ollerenshaw in the British Saloon Car Championship, the team concentrated on saloons before deciding to move into single-seater racing during the mid-1980s. Following the appointment of Morgan’s son, Richard Ollerenshaw, to the position of Managing Director in 1996, Hillspeed began to focus on the building, preparation and maintenance of race cars and high performance road cars. Unsurprisingly, the desire to compete sparked a speedy return to active participation in motorsport and Hillspeed emerged as the dominant force in the ARP Formula 3 Championship now known as the MSV F3 Cup. Winning more races than any other team over a five year period, Hillspeed claimed back-to-back titles in 2000 and 2001. The team’s level of preparation and expertise was notably acknowledged in 2003 when McLaren-backed Chinese racer Cheng Cong Fu was placed with Hillspeed for his initial foray into single-seater action in Formula Renault UK. Hillspeed later went on to claim its first Formula Renault title in 2007 when winning the UK Winter Series. In the sister Formula Renault BARC category, the squad instantly enjoyed success at the sharp end and after winning team championships in 2008 and 2009 – in addition to the 2009 Winter Series title – Hillspeed guided Alice Powell into the history books as the first female driver in the world to win a Formula Renault crown by claiming the 2010 championship. That year also marked Hillspeed’s first appearance in the ranks of British Touring Car Championship-support category Ginetta Junior and the team made an instantaneous impact by winning the title at its maiden attempt with Tom Ingram. Again entering the record books with 14-year-old Seb Morris by taking him to the 2010 Ginetta Junior Winter Series crown, the young Welshman remained with Hillspeed for 2011 and duly claimed the main season championship with an incredible 11 wins – seven of those coming from the opening eight races. Struan Moore and William Palmer supported Morris during the season and their combined efforts brought Hillspeed the teams championship, making it a double success. In Formula Renault BARC, the team fielded a three car squad in 2011 which also entered the NEC Formula Renault championship invitational class at Zandvoort taking two victories with Howard Fuller. The team were on the top step of the podium again to round our the year with Spain’s Victor Jimenez taking the Winter Series title. In 2012, the team continued to be a regular podium visitor in Ginetta Junior and Formula Renault BARC with Pepe Massot and Kieran Vernon respectively. Massot starred in his maiden season of car racing and Hillspeed enabled the Spanish teenager to fulfil his potential by claiming the Rookie Cup title in Ginetta Junior with 11 wins, including two superb outright victories.

More info: http://www.hillspeed.co.uk

Unit 7, Hathersage Business Park, Heather Lane,