Formula E Crowns Champions At End Of Season

Formula E Crowns Champions At End Of Season

With Season 4 of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship coming to a conclusion in New York City, officials from the all-electric racing series have crowned a new drivers' and team champion, among many supplemental honors, during its end of the season award ceremony, detailed below.

"Wow" Moment of the Year Award
While the first award of the night may be new for this season, it's a fitting category for Formula E. The ‘wow moment of the year’ award is given for a jaw-dropping moment, a real glimpse of perfection, or something that just won’t be forgotten in a long time.
Winner: Daniel Abt's home victory in Berlin

Next up is the FANBOOST award—a prize that rewards the most interactive drivers among fans and in turn, fans vote to give them that precious boost of energy during the second stint of the race.
Winner: Sebastien Buemi

Modis Engineer of the Year Award
As a new partner for this season, Modis, one of the global leaders in professional IT, engineering and life science solutions, has created an award this season to reward the work done behind the scenes to an imperative member of the team who supports the electric revolution.
Winner: Leo Thomas, Racing Director, Techeetah Formula E

Mahindra Rise Award

Last year Mahindra Racing gave out an award to celebrate an unsung hero of Formula E, and this year is no different.
Winner: Manolo Ortiz Tallo

Best Social Media Activation Award
Formula E continues to make an impact with younger audiences. With the teams and drivers within the ABB FIA Formula E Championship also coming up with captivating and engaging content, bridging the gap between drivers and their fans, it makes sense to celebrate their efforts.
Winner: DS Virgin Racing

Teams' Championship Award
After the German manufacturers' season got off to a dismal start with technical difficulties and breakdowns, no one—not even the Team Principal himself—would have thought the team would be taking home the trophy for the teams' championship here in New York City.
Winner: Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler

Drivers' Championship Award
With a total of four wins and six podiums over the course of the season, Techeetah's Jean-Eric Vergne clinched the drivers' championship title one race early here in New York City, finishing the season with 198 points to his name. "It's by far the highlight of my career - clearly. No question about it," said the Frenchman.
Winner: Jean-Eric Vergne

Source: http://www.performanceracing.com/news/formula-e-crowns-champions-end-season

Our show partners